How Wisdom from 2500 Years Ago Still Guides us Today

I recently read a book The Wisdom of Confucius by Lin Yutang. Confucius lived from 551-479 B.C.E. and coined the adage we know as the Golden Rule: treat others as you would want to be treated. He developed it in the context of truly studying, knowing, and being true to one’s best self.

When Confucius was asked about the value of being true to oneself, he replied: “He who learns to be his true self is one who finds out what is good and holds fast to it. Let a man really proceed in this manner, and, though dull, he will surely become intelligent; though weak he will surely become strong. He who is his true self has thereby understanding, and he who has understanding finds thereby his true self.’”

When do you feel centered and when do you feel out of balance? When you are out of balance what do you do? I, at this writing, am in the second stages of a cold: low energy, runny nose, you know the rest. I just want to sleep although I am not tired enough to do that. I am in my restless stage.  The consequences of this make me feel more impatient and less tolerant. As a result, to stay centered, I have to readjust. I have to make sure I don’t jump to inappropriate conclusions and that I listen more carefully. I know that I am out of balance and I know where my center is. My center is in and through my core values: wisdom and understanding, not through my emotional feeling of restlessness!

Do you know when you are in your center and when you are off balance? What do you do about it?

Share your thoughts with me. I would love to hear from you.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

